That’s right. I said it. A jockey. Yes, I’m sure that I
shouldn’t be sensationalizing the fact that I hung out with a small person, but
seeing as how I’m not 6 feet, I feel like I can get away with this, since I am
also a small-er person. Anyway, a couple of Saturdays ago, I went out with my
friends for what was supposed to be one sensible cocktail and ended up chugging
cocktails, running into a girl from high school, taking shots, dancing in a
grungier part of a nice restaurant, and making friends with random foreigners.
The last part is important because that leads us to the jockey. Now, I don’t
know about y’all, but get me a few (ten) shots and I’m Miss chatty Cathy aka
I’m telling some random Lebanese artist that he has gorgeous blue eyes and and
that I love Lebanese food and PRESTO! Me
and my friends are being invited back to an “after party” at his place in Mt.
Pleasant. Now, Twenty-four year old Blerika would be like, “welp, another
Saturday,” gone to said rando Lebanese man’s place, tmo’d (duh, topless
makeout), and peace’d at the ripe old hour of 6am. But, twenty-seven year old
Blerika has apparently learned something from waking up in some rando place
(slash having a walk of shame where I ran into a presidential nominee; more on
that some other time.) and navigating how close/far I was away from a Metro
stop, that I brought new friends with me---EMPHASIS on the word “NEW”. New,
because they were friends of friends, so, while they are not sketchy people,
it’s not like old friends where you know the type of people they befriend and
are able to give the bat signal when things are going south. And, by the type of people they befriend, I
mean, NOT JOCKEYS. Anyway, we’re in the cab, and there’s a small man in the
front seat, but one of the new friends told me that he was paying, so I just
shut my mouth and went with it. So, we get to the location of said after party
and realized, “Ha. Don’t actually have the rando’s number…or apartment
number….or name.” We were all starting to have a chuckle about how far this
whole mission went awry when the rando shows up with a posse and we all go
inside. So, we’re all standing around, listening to music and drinking interesting cocktails (read: mixing
cheap alcohol with anything that doesn’t make it taste like cheap alcohol.
Anything.), and generally having a great time.
All of a sudden I hear a commotion in the kitchen and a girl comes over
to new friends and I and says, “you guys need to leave.” We all looked at each
other like, what the heck? But, put down our horrible drinks and left
peacefully. Perhaps one the more awkward exits I’ve ever had, but after
leaving, new friends and I laughed and thought, WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAVE
HAPPENED TO GET US KICKED OUT?! Apparently, after talking to my friend from
college FS, we found out that the jockey got aggressive EN ESPANOL with one of
the girls that lived in the apartment , so she kicked us out. FS had tried to
explain to the girl that we didn’t really know him and he’d just kind of
followed us there. Instead of making her feel more comfortable with having us
there, it made her feel less and, jockey or no jockey, she was NOT ok with
having us in her home at 4am. I mean, fair enough. I don’t know that I’d want a
bunch of rambunctious people that hang out with random jockeys singing along to
Robyn in my apartment at 4am, but at least it makes for a great story.
Thursday, March 21, 2013
Monday, April 13, 2009
Two friends and a dare....
Two of my best friends decided to visit me around the same time, making me a VERY happy girl. One of my friends, Jane, was my best friend from high school and had matured in a similar way to me---which basically means that she's free-spirited and tough. My other friend visiting was Ava, a really good friend from college. We did the usual Saturday night routine that most twentysomethings do with their friends when they have friends visiting the city--take them out for drinks and dancing.
It was supposed to a be small group of people getting together to meet Jane and Ava, it turned into about 20 people in a small dive bar aka we took over the place. The bar, was one of those bars that newly graduated and not-so-newly graduated young people dream of--a glass of alcohol and a glass of chaser for the low low price of $3. No, of course it's not top shelf alcohol, but when you have a glass of gin and a small bottle of tonic in front of you, you're not thinking, "Ewww this is NOT Bombay. " And even if you are, your friends are probably screaming at you, " IT"S THREE DOLLARS. WHO CARES?!?!" Anyway, we got liquored up at this place and separated from the larger group to go dance and at a seedy dance club two blocks away.
I use the word "seedy'' not because the club itself is dirty or unkempt, but it's mostly the clientele. Anyway, the music is good and we decided to just have fun and dance until the club closed.
There we were standing at the upstairs bar, recounting stories about men when a tall, attractive guy comes over and interrupts our conversation. He says, "Hey, would you spank my friend on the a**, if I bought each of you a drink?" We all looked at him dumbfounded. It was one of those questions where the answer to the question seemed obvious, but somehow the person asking the question did not seem to get it. So, finally we all looked him and said "Yes" very slowly.
This is where we kind of cheated--only my friend Jane actually spanked the friend, Mark, but we all got drinks. Not that either Mark or John really seemed to care---they apparently just wanted to stir up trouble. Jane and Ava left to smoke a cigarette, so I was pretty much stuck with the two guys. And by stuck, I mean, I was drunk and thought that they were entertaining, so I kept hanging out with them.
The club closed and Mark suggested that we go down the street to his place for an after party. Three girls, two guys....yea, this was a GREAT idea. Apparently, I was the only one anti-this idea and soon my opinion got outvoted.
John left our group, because, among other things, he had a girlfriend and was tired. Somehow, I think that the first reason, was probably the reason. Anyway, during the walk to Mark's place, I started to become fond of this little man, but mostly, I REALLY had to pee.
We went to Mark's place, hung out, Jane and Ava randomly made tortelleni in his kitchen and he got my number. Definitely a memorable way to get a number, that's for sure.
It was supposed to a be small group of people getting together to meet Jane and Ava, it turned into about 20 people in a small dive bar aka we took over the place. The bar, was one of those bars that newly graduated and not-so-newly graduated young people dream of--a glass of alcohol and a glass of chaser for the low low price of $3. No, of course it's not top shelf alcohol, but when you have a glass of gin and a small bottle of tonic in front of you, you're not thinking, "Ewww this is NOT Bombay. " And even if you are, your friends are probably screaming at you, " IT"S THREE DOLLARS. WHO CARES?!?!" Anyway, we got liquored up at this place and separated from the larger group to go dance and at a seedy dance club two blocks away.
I use the word "seedy'' not because the club itself is dirty or unkempt, but it's mostly the clientele. Anyway, the music is good and we decided to just have fun and dance until the club closed.
There we were standing at the upstairs bar, recounting stories about men when a tall, attractive guy comes over and interrupts our conversation. He says, "Hey, would you spank my friend on the a**, if I bought each of you a drink?" We all looked at him dumbfounded. It was one of those questions where the answer to the question seemed obvious, but somehow the person asking the question did not seem to get it. So, finally we all looked him and said "Yes" very slowly.
This is where we kind of cheated--only my friend Jane actually spanked the friend, Mark, but we all got drinks. Not that either Mark or John really seemed to care---they apparently just wanted to stir up trouble. Jane and Ava left to smoke a cigarette, so I was pretty much stuck with the two guys. And by stuck, I mean, I was drunk and thought that they were entertaining, so I kept hanging out with them.
The club closed and Mark suggested that we go down the street to his place for an after party. Three girls, two guys....yea, this was a GREAT idea. Apparently, I was the only one anti-this idea and soon my opinion got outvoted.
John left our group, because, among other things, he had a girlfriend and was tired. Somehow, I think that the first reason, was probably the reason. Anyway, during the walk to Mark's place, I started to become fond of this little man, but mostly, I REALLY had to pee.
We went to Mark's place, hung out, Jane and Ava randomly made tortelleni in his kitchen and he got my number. Definitely a memorable way to get a number, that's for sure.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)